The Second and Third Draft

It’s been a while since I’ve mentioned my current WIP novel, “Eye For An Eye.” Time for an update. ::rubs hands together:: Here we go!

Well, as you know from this post, I completed the first draft of my Lady Sheriff novel, “Eye For An Eye.” I put it into the hands of my beta readers: my mother and sister. One is a mystery junkie; the other is a writer who isn’t shy about telling me what doesn’t work in my novels. After they read it through, we had a number of conversations on the characters, theories, little plot holes, historical inaccuracies, etc – it was determined that the novel was solid and I could move forward with the revisions. I can’t begin to say how relieved I was, that there wasn’t a glaringly major plot hole that can destroy a WIP. Remember that episode of “Modern Family” where they’re on a train and Cam and Phil pester their favorite novelist, and more or less break him? Hailey joins in at one point. Then Luke ironically saves the author’s day with a piece of geography he learned, that can make the novelist’s story plausible. I love that show.

Anyway, I combed through the draft a few times myself, making notes and rewriting certain parts. I did a second draft, implementing those changes. I also added four thousand words to the wordcount, bringing it up to 71,000 words. Yay! I completed the second draft in a week and I let it sit for a couple of weeks and worked on a new short story, did revising on another short story at an editor’s request, and wrote a few blog posts. During that little break, I realized because the second draft went so quickly, I needed to do a more major revision for the third draft.

I decided to follow this blog post’s advice and basically rewrite the entire novel, from start to finish. I used the existing draft as my template and started the third draft from scratch. I’m almost at the half-way point, but the change has been ::massive::! It’s a daunting process, to rewrite a novel. You do want to throw in the towel. You wonder if it’s worth it. But from past experiences, I found that this process works for me. I apply it to every novel I write and I’ll promote this piece of writing advice to whoever will listen. The prose, the pacing, the dialog – greatly improved. Tomorrow I’ll be on Chapter 10, which is nearly halfway through the novel. If I’m diligent, I’ll complete it on June 15th. We’ll see.

So, what does your revision process look like?

Until next time!

Leave a comment