Book Review: “I, The Writer”

Amazon Description:

114 essays by modern-day authors fiction and non-fiction writers, poets, song writers, playwrights and journalists from across the globe write about the intertwining of their personal lives with their journeys in the literary arts. In this volume authors provide keen insights into the early influences and experiences that transformed them into writers and what keeps them writing, in some cases while in dire situations or facing life crises. Every one of them are published, some on the cusp of fame, every one of them is able to proudly title their essay. “I, The Writer.” You can purchase it here!

Author Bio:

Told by a high school teacher that he had writing talent, Steve Carr’s career as a writer began right after graduation. He spent three years in the Army as a military journalist, writing articles for newspapers all over Florida, and followed that up with four years in the Navy where he taught in the Psychiatric Technician Program at Portsmouth Naval Hospital, training Hospital Corpsmen how to provide care and support in an inpatient setting for young men with psychiatric disorders. He then finished college, majoring in English/Theater and then spent the next 13 years working in non-profit health care development and management, mostly in rural communities, during which time several of his plays that he wrote in his spare time were produced in several states. He gave up the steady income to pursue his dream of writing/producing/directing his own plays and began a theatrical production company in Arizona. He retired early and in June 2016 began writing short stories. Since then he has had over 430 short stories published internationally in over 280 different print and online magazines, literary journals and anthologies. He’s a native of Cincinnati but has traveled extensively in the United States and abroad. He currently lives in Richmond, Virginia where when he’s not writing he frets about his writing peers not getting the attention they deserve. He is the founder of Sweetycat Press, a Facebook Group, that produces publications as promotion tools for emerging writers.

My Thoughts:

When I learned there was a call for submissions for an anthology by writers and for writers, I knew I wanted to be part of it. First, I was touched when my photo was used on the bottom right corner of “I, The Writer.” Then I held my breath and wrote an essay, in hopes of acceptance. I submitted it and was pleased to learn my piece would be included. “I, The Writer” was released on November 1st and I read it asap. For years I had been told that writing is lonely work; writers live inside their own heads, really only revealing themselves on the page. On reading the other essays, I was amazed by all of the writers I was introduced to. No longer did I feel lonely; I was in the company of my kindred spirits. Many of the personal experiences brought tears to my eyes, and they’ll stay with me. “I, The Writer” was a wonderful addition to my personal library!

Leave a comment