“Celestial Persuasion”: A Review

Description:

Abigail Isaacs fears ever again falling under the power of love and dedicates her life to studying the heavens. However, upon her father’s demise she finds herself in reduced circumstances and must write to her brother, who has long been away at sea. When instead Captain Wentworth of the HMS Laconia sends a tragic reply, Abigail is asked to set aside her own ambitions and fulfill her brother’s dreams in the Viceroyalty of Río de la Plata.
In his relentless pursuit for justice, Lieutenant Raphael Gabay lends his sword to the Spanish American cause. But as he prepares to set sail with the others, he is entrusted with the care of a young woman. She is quite unlike anyone he has ever known, and Raphael begins to wonder whether the brilliant astronomer will see beyond his frivolous façade and recognize his true nature.
Their destinies have been plotted beyond the celestial veil; their charts foretell of adventure. Can these two troubled souls be persuaded to heed the stars and find love—and their purpose—in this fledgling nation?

Author Bio:

Mirta Ines Trupp is a second generation Argentine; she was born in Buenos Aires in 1962 and immigrated to the United States that same year. Because of the unique fringe benefits provided by her father’s employer- Pan American Airlines- she returned to her native country frequently- growing up with “un pie acá y un pie allá” (with one foot here and one foot there).

Mirta’s fascination with Jewish history and genealogy, coupled with an obsession for historical period drama, has inspired her to create unique and enlightening novels. She has been a guest speaker for book clubs, sisterhood events, genealogy societies and philanthropic organizations. Sharing her knowledge of Jewish Argentina has become her passion.

Besides being an avid novel reader, she has had a lifelong love for choral music and is a devoted Beatles fan. Follow Mirta on Amazon, Goodreads, Instagram, and BookBub or stop by her blog: www.mirtainestruppauthor.com

My Thoughts:

A couple weeks ago, on Mirta Ines Trupp’s invitation, read “Celestial Persuasion.” Some of her books had been on my to-read list for awhile and this was my chance to be introduced to her work and well, a part of history that I was completely ignorant of. I mean, I’ve read my share of Regency fiction: Jane Austen, Georgette Heyer, Julia Quinn to name a few. But this was the first time I read a Regency era novel from a Jewish heroine’s perspective (years ago I did read a Regency romance from a Jewish hero’s perspective, but it was Christian fiction, so he ended up converting). I really did – and do- adore Abigail Issacs. More than a bluestocking, she is fascinated with astronomy and passionate about education and women forging their way in a world ruled by men. When she finds herself in reduced circumstances and through tragedy, she is presented with the opportunity to make a new life for herself in South America…and perhaps a chance at love.

I don’t wish to give away too much of the plot, so I’m going to focus on what I enjoyed most of the “Celestial Persuasion.” As I mentioned, Abigail Issacs is a wonderful heroine. Intelligent, strong, capable, devoted – someone we all aspire to be. I also appreciate that the hero wasn’t a carbon copy of Mr. Darcy from “Pride and Prejudice.” It seems every Regency romance I pick up has a poor imitation of Mr. Darcy as the hero. Thankfully, that’s not the case in “Celestial Persuasion.” I enjoyed learning about the historical figures mentioned and depicted in the novel. I had never heard of Caroline Herschel or Moses Mendelssohn before this. Then when I finished the story, I discovered that some of the characters shown on the voyage to South America and living in the Viceroyalty of Río de la Plata actually existed. Various Austen characters also make cameos – it was great seeing old favorites again.

One thing I want to highlight about Abigail Issacs and Lt. Raphael Gabay is that they are people of faith. They’re dedicated to their Jewish beliefs. Prayer, Scriptures, discussion of religion, and reverence for God is shown. But it’s done in such a natural way that it’s not preachy, overwhelming, or offensive (unlike some of the Christian fiction I’ve read). Though my beliefs are different, I found “Celestial Persuasion” to be inspiring and the novel encouraged me with my own faith. It’s a clean romance and faithful to that era’s societal customs when it comes to courtship. I truly enjoyed the book and highly recommend it.

Now, onto reading Mirta Ines Trupp’s “The Meyersons of Meryton!” I can’t wait!

2 thoughts on ““Celestial Persuasion”: A Review

  1. Thank you, Veronica, for your kind and thoughtful review. I’m so pleased that you enjoyed the story. Kind regards and Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment