Lions and Tigers and…

No bears, but plenty of God’s other beautiful creatures.

This is a little belated, but last Wednesday, my aunt, sister, and I went to the Exotic Feline Rescue Center in Center Point, Indiana. If you live in Indiana, exotic animals are the last thing you think you might see here. (Okay, twenty years ago in my hometown, there was someone who owned and displayed two lions in a cage outside an old pet shop, but that’s another story.) Particularly in the country near a small town. We spent an hour or so in 90-degree weather walking the grounds, learning about and meeting some of the animals there. One was a little tiger cub who spent most of our trip there yowling for a second bottle, and some extra attention.

2019_1

Another one who captured my heart was Spangles, a female tiger with only one eye. She was lovingly called a Pirate Tiger; I was able to have a few photos taken with her. It might have been all in my head, but after I got up and stepped aside…she followed me, moving aside too. I felt a connection there.

2019_2

According to the website, there are 200 felines who call the Exotic Feline Rescue Home and many are rescues. For whatever reason, people get it into their heads that having an exotic animal would be fun…and then the animal ends up neglected, rejected, and even abused. From my brief observations, I could tell the felines are loved and cared for by those who work there. They are happy as they can be. My family and I hope to return again, when it’s a little cooler out and we don’t have to worry about getting heatstroke.

So, if you get a chance, please check out the website, Facebook page, and Instagram.

Until next time.

Leave a comment