The Last Czars: A Review

the-last-czars-netflix-2019

This week, I’ve been binge-watching the new Netflix series, The Last Czars. First of all, I want to say I am in no way an expert on the Romanov family or Russian history. I have done my share of personal research. As a teenager I was obsessed with the mystery behind Anastasia Romanov/Anna Anderson. When I heard there was to be a miniseries devoted to the last ruling family of Russia, I was excited.

aaaabfxjjjukih0iov3flyomdfzsi-bsg5emfyfj-jlpkdhlb32ue-6fpitdol3xyrne28eudmjfwu9fwqig1ohppuvvicpuiphozg

There have already been a number of articles dissecting the historical inaccuracies. Some of the most glaring was featuring a clip of Lenin’s mausoleum in a scene from 1905 (Lenin didn’t die until 1924), the misspelling of words, the poor casting choice of Tsarina Alexandra. Susanna Herbert is a fine actress, but she in no way resembles the real Alexandra and for me that was distracting. I could have also done without the explicitness of tsar and tsarina’s wedding night and Rasputin’s continual orgies. I’m not a prude necessarily – I’ve watched my share of war films, which feature graphic nudity and foul language and that never offends me. Perhaps its my own perception of the Romanov’s that is old-fashioned – I mean, I’ve read about this family since I was eleven so maybe that’s why I don’t want to think about what goes on behind closed doors.

what-netflix-last-czars-about

The use of the “F” word seemed out of place too. I could have overlooked it for the most part, but when it popped out of Alexandra’s mouth in one scene, I couldn’t reconcile myself to it. Alexandra was known for being a devout Christian and extremely pious. Extremely, extremely pious. I don’t think she would have said it. Spliced throughout the series was documentary like interviews, and I felt that made it choppy. The interviews/historical analysis would have been better postponed at the end of the episodes.

the-last-czars-netflix-recensione

Some of the positive aspect of the series was showing how while the Romanov’s weren’t evil, they were detached from reality and poorly influenced. They had extravagant balls and parties, lived in seven different palaces, they had a yacht – all while their people were starving and abused. Antisemitism was rampant and pogroms were carried out, not only during Nicholas’ reign, but during his father’s and grandfather’s. And when Russia was drawn into WWI, the neglect of the people only worsened and it led into the Russian Revolution. Weaving Anna Anderson’s story throughout the narrative was clever, despite the fact that we already know the truth behind her and Anastasia’s outcome. The cinematography was beautiful.

If you’re looking for an introduction to the Romanov family and Russian history, The Last Czars is a good place to start. But it has its share of flaws and all in all, I was disappointed. I’d give it three stars out of five. I do hope someday to have a miniseries or movie about the Romanov family that is truly faithful to their story.

russian_imperial_family_1911

2 thoughts on “The Last Czars: A Review

  1. I have always found that family fascinating, not least because Nicholas was a cousin of King George and they looked very much alike, Kaiser Wilhelm was also a cousin – three monarchs who couldn’t stop the Great War. The Romanovs visited England before WW1 and went on holiday to the Isle of Wight and yet they did not escape to Britain. The Queen’s cousin, Prince Michael of Kent was the image of the tsar when he was younger and apparently loves Russia!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The history of those monarchs and how they were related and intermarried is fascinating. Yes, I’ve seen pictures of King George and thought he and Nicholas looked like twins. It must have been devastating for each of the countries to be at war – they were fighting against loved ones and family. Goodness, Prince Michael does resemble Nicholas!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment